Explore contemporary Iran with Elma tour
Elma tour, your travel guide to Iran

Contemporary history of Iran

Safavid dynasty: 1501–1736, صفویان, Capital cities: Tabriz, Qazvin, Esfahan,
During Safavid, Shiite was declared as official religion of Iran. When king Abbas was ruling, Bandar Abbas released from Portugal, AliQapu and 33-Pol palace manufactured. Mirdamad, Molla Sadra lived during his kingdom.
Afghan interlude: 1722–1730, افغان ها, Capital cities: Kandahar, Esfahan,
During king Soltan Hossein, Afghan rebels attacked Iran and defeated Safavids. Iran was plundered by Afghans and northern part of Iran was seized by Russia.
Afsharid dynasty: 1736-1796, افشاریه, Capital cities: Mashhad,
Afsharid King Nader was the one who exiled Afghans. Nader expanded its kingdom to Qandehar, Kharazm and Bukhara and defeated king of India for not passing the fugitive Afghans.
Zandiyeh dynasty: 1750–1794, زندیه, Capital cities: Shiraz,
Zand dynasty was founded by Karim Khan, chief of the Zand tribe. Great Revolution of France, industrial revolution of Britain and Independence of America happened at this time.
Qajar dynasty: 1794–1925, قاجاریه, Capital cities: Tehran,
Qajar dynasty ruled for 130 years in Iran. Theran became the capital of Iran in Qajar dynasty. Several wars happened during Qajar and Iran lost a lot of its land during those wars. National Assembly (Majlis) established during Qajar.
Pahlavi dynasty: 1925–1979, پهلوی, Capital cities: Tehran,
The Pahlavis came to power after Qajar dynasty by a military coup. The National Assembly (Majlis) deposed Ahmad Shah Qajar, and declared Reza Shah the new monarch of Iran. After revolotion, Mohammad Reza Shah Pahlavi went into exile and ended the 2500-year-old monarchy in Iran.

Related articles

Timeline history of Iran Iran before Islam Iran after Islam Contemporary Iran